Technical/Business Aspects in IT

A brief review on New Horizons

Posted by scmay on July 18, 2007

nh.jpg

I thought I wrote a review on taking a course in New Horizons a while ago, but apparently I didn’t.

I did a 3 day course with New Horizons on 70-310, which is one of the core subjects in MCAD/MCSD. I would say it was better than the course that I took in Advance Training. They provide you with 2 monitor screens, one which you view the course on video, and another for you to work on .NET while you are doing some practical examples.

Ooo, they provide you with free lunch too. *BONUS*

The instructors seem very knowledgable. I didn’t ask too much since I didn’t really use Web services in workplace.

Cons: Using the headset to listen to the video lectures causes me a headache when I am doing it for the entire day. From memory, some of the practical examples shown in the video were incorrect, and the solution was not given. Students like me are left spending time figuring out the solutions for the demo. Oh, and you see the ‘lecturer’ talking in front of you all the time, its boring. They should show more powerpoint slides and not the lecturer himself.

Pros: Free lunch, double monitor screens, free coffee/tea/biscuits/fruits, able to make free local calls (though the phone was really crappy)

* This review is solely an individual opinion and the author is not paid by anyone.

Leave a comment